Congratulations to the 2018-2019 Green School Scholars

Published on: 
28 Sep 2018
Phoebe Beierle

The recipients of the 2018–19 Green Schools Scholarship have been announced. The scholarship is an annual program run by the Center for Green Schools, which recognizes and supports school districts making measurable progress toward their sustainability goals.

The 2018–19 scholarship cohort includes five diverse school districts, representing over 102,000 students in 170 schools:

These districts have demonstrated their commitment to whole-school sustainability by improving the physical infrastructure of their schools, building an awareness and vision for sustainability across the district and engaging students in sustainability topics through real-world learning and service projects.

The 2018-19 recipients have a long list of successes, a few of which include being awarded a district U.S. ED Green Ribbon award, installing 1 MW of solar for use at the district schools, having EcoClub students track sustainability metrics using Arc, rebuilding schools to the LEED standard to be healthy and efficient and establishing student internships with the local solid waste and composting agency.

The Green Schools Scholarship is valued at $20,000 and includes fully paid professional development opportunities at the Greenbuild Conference and Expo, the Green Schools Conference and Expo and the School Sustainability Leaders' Summit. Scholars also benefit from ongoing coaching from experts in the field, their peers and a broader group of sustainability professionals who participate in the School Sustainability Leaders Network. Throughout the year, they can take advantage of their complimentary access to curriculum and training resources such as Learning Lab, the Green Classroom Professional Certificate, and a LEED coach.

Each school system we work with is dedicated to positively impacting the health and performance of the thousands of students, teachers and staff that it serves and blazing a trail for other districts to follow. Congratulations to the 2018-2019 Scholars!

Learn more about the School Sustainability Leaders’ Network